{when}

“I can’t go back to yesterday because I was a different person then.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

~

pain swirling around me

make it stop

silence pierces the void

what do you do when silence is all you can hear?

he isn’t where he used to be, or where I imagined him to be

words long since hollow mock me

promises rang untrue years ago

it just doesn’t all add up

the sum is less than and greater than all the components

I have to find my way through

surely this isn’t all there is

beauty seems to trick me

as a carrot dangling just out of reach

joy a vapor, here one moment, gone the next

when will the bend in the road come

the break in the clouds

the parting of the waters

the end of the storm

beauty for ashes

dancing for mourning

bones rising up to be redeemed

when?

~

{Hope Wood © 2014}

IMG_0991edit1-copy

