{Rise Up}

“There came a time when the risk to remain tight in the bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.” ~Anais Nin

This is the time. I cannot remain tight in the bud anymore, tight behind the walls of self protection that I didn’t even realize were so very high.

I am blooming, I am opening up, I am scared out of my mind, but I have to do it.

Blooming is redemptive. A bud can only stay a bud for so long before the innate desire to bloom makes it go crazy or unto death till it blossoms.

There is a tension I live with daily. I was able to kind of put it on the back burner before I became a Mom. Life was all ahead of me it seemed and I had more time than I knew what to do with for the most part. Now, it seems every moment is a stolen moment. I know life isn’t neverending here on this big bouncing ball. I know people die, people grow old, children grow, my body changes, relationships are born and relationships die, time does not heal all wounds, but time rolls on no matter what. Life feels like a constant race and constant riddle to be solved. But within the madness there is a hush at the center of the storm, the eye is quiet, it whispers hope to me.

There is hope.

You and I, we are the reasons for it all.

We are loved and valued beyond what a million of our brains could ever truly comprehend.

Stop and listen.

Watch a sunset.

Listen closely, Sunsets Whisper.

Mountains Sing.

Flowers serenade us.

Water evokes peace.

Wind speaks.

It is all around us.

There is something running deeper than the tension, deeper than the riddles.

We are all connected.

We are all in this together, truly.

Let redemption carry you, listen, hear its words, hear its songs, look at what it offers you.

Look at those around you with new eyes.

We are all so very much the same.

There is enough redemption thankfully to go around.

Enough hope.

Enough beauty.

Enough love.

You are enough.

Let’s rise up ourselves and collectively.

Won’t you join me?

{Hope Wood © 2014}

__________________________

“What if I had your heart?
What if you wore my scars?
How would we break down?
What if you were me and what if I were you?

What if you told my lies?
What if I cried with your eyes?
Could anyone keep us down?
What if you were me? And what if I were you?

To the ones who make it better, find to get out, gotta touch the other side.
What if all that it took to save our lives together was to rise up…”

(Five for Fighting, What If)

 

